HTTPS Acceleration Service – Certificates applied for by Azure Content Delivery Network

Request access

The Azure CDN provides HTTPS secure acceleration services that support certificates uploaded by the user and the automatic configuration of certificates applied for by the Azure CDN, with both types only available to paying users.This article discusses details on how to configure the Content Delivery Network to apply for certificates for you. For information about how to configure user-uploaded certificates and explanations for certificates, see Azure Content Delivery Network HTTPS Acceleration Services – User-supplied certificates.For more information about the differences between the two, see Service Consulting FAQ.

  1. To apply for access: Contact the Azure technical support team.You will need to provide the Azure subscription ID that you want to use the HTTPS acceleration service for.

  2. Self-service creation: After the Azure Content Delivery Network team receives and approves your access request, the team will enable the HTTPS acceleration service for the Azure subscription that you provided.You can then sign in to the Azure portal to complete the self-service creation process.Refer to the instructions for the self-service creation process.

  3. SSL certificate application and configuration: After your configuration request is received, the Azure Content Delivery Network team will apply for an SSL certificate on your behalf. For more information about certificate types, see the notes at the end of this article.

    [!NOTE]

    The application and configuration process for this certificate takes approximately five business days.You will also need to cooperate during the application process, so that the certificate issuer can confirm ownership of the domain name.This article discusses the confirmation process in greater detail later.

  4. When the configuration is finished and takes effect: After the configuration process is complete, you can complete the final setup of the canonical name (CNAME) record as you would to create services with other types of acceleration.Finally, you can complete any other associated management and configuration tasks through the unified Azure Content Delivery Network portal.

Self-service creation process

  1. After you have finished creating the HTTPS acceleration type in the Azure portal, select the Management button, as shown in the following image, to jump to the Azure Content Delivery Network portal to complete the subsequent access procedure.

  2. In the Azure Content Delivery Network portal, under Domain name management, select the HTTPS acceleration domain name that you need to configure, and then select View HTTPS configuration status.

  3. You will then be able to see the five steps that are required to complete the whole HTTPS access configuration process.In Step 2: “Submit certificate application,” the interface prompts you to provide the following additional information:

    Estimated bandwidth: Specify the estimated peak bandwidth that's required.

    Estimated average file size: Specify the estimated average size of the files for which cache acceleration is required.

    Acceleration demand time: Specify whether the demand for HTTPS acceleration is long term or short term.

    Access port for client access to CDN node: Specify how the client that you want to enable will access the CDN node.

    1) Activate only HTTPS access (with HTTP access prohibited)

    2) Activate both HTTP and HTTPS access

    3) Make HTTP access always jump to HTTPS access

    Return-to-source port for CDN node access to the source station: Specify how the CDN node can achieve return-to-source access.

    1) Use only HTTP return-to-source

    2) Use only HTTPS return-to-source

    3) Use both HTTP and HTTPS return-to-source

    Test URL: Enter a URL that can be used subsequently to check access.Make sure that this URL on the source station is accessible.

  4. After you have filled out all the relevant information for the previous step, press the Confirm button to complete the operation.To view the HTTPS configuration status again later:

    After the Azure Content Delivery Network service provider’s backend confirms all the submitted information and has submitted the official certificate application to the certificate issuer, you can proceed to the interface for Step 3, as shown in the following image:

  5. In this next step, which is the most critical step in the certificate application process, is when the user needs to confirm ownership of the domain name.As the Azure Content Delivery Network service provider submits the certificate application to the certificate issuer on the user’s behalf, the certificate issuer confirms domain name ownership with the user during this process.To confirm ownership, the domain name owner must complete final confirmation in the manner that’s specified in the email sent by the domain name issuer.

    There are two ways to receive the email:

    1) Default method: After the certificate issuer receives the request, the certificate issuer sends the domain name confirmation email by default to the email address that’s associated with the acceleration domain name as soon as possible. See the previous image for details.If you choose to obtain the confirmation email by this method, you can press the Confirm button to go directly to the next step.

    2) DNS TXT method: If you are unable to sign in to the email account for the default method to complete confirmation of the domain name ownership, you can complete the confirmation process by creating a DNS TXT record, as shown in the following image.This method might take a little longer to complete.

    After you have created the DNS TXT record, you can use the following command for verification in the Windows operating system: nslookup -qt=txt www.cdn.test.com

    Next, as with the default method, the user can sign in to the mailbox that’s specified in the DNS TXT record to complete the subsequent domain name ownership-verification process.

    After you have confirmed that you successfully created the corresponding DNS TXT record in this step, select “Confirm” in this step to continue to the next step.

  6. The user can complete the domain-name ownership-verification process by accessing the email.

    After the Azure Content Deliver Network backend confirms the method that you have chosen to receive the confirmation email, you will see the following interface:

    You can now proceed to the corresponding email account to finish the verification of domain name ownership.

    Email subject: Please validate ownership of your domain www.cdn.test.com -- DigiCert order 00123456

    Email text:

    You must click on the confirmation link in the email to complete confirmation of domain name ownership.

    After this, select Complete in the interface for Step 4 to finally complete confirmation of the entire domain name.

  7. Next, the entire configuration process moves into the final step, as shown in the following image:

    In this step, after the Azure Content Delivery Network back end receives the corresponding certificate from the certificate issuer, it will take a certain amount of time to complete the final configuration tasks. After this, you will see the final completion interface:

    Finally, you can complete the CNAME configuration process through your domain name service provider just as you would to create accelerated domain names with other acceleration types. You direct the user-defined accelerated domain name to the Content Delivery Network domain name that's provided by the Azure Content Delivery Network platform, which should have an extension similar to .mschcdn.com. This completes the configuration.

Notes

About the SSL certificates

The SSL certificate type that is used is a SAN multi-domain name certificate (SAN/UCC SSL):

Subject alternative name (SAN) certificates are also known as unified communication certificates (UCC).With SAN SSL certificates, you can add multiple domain names or server names that need protection within the same certificate.This feature provides a great deal of flexibility. You can create an SSL certificate that is not only easy to use and install, but it is also more secure than wildcard SSL certificates. The certificate is also perfectly suited to your server security requirements.

Certificate issuer: https://www.digicert.com/

The Azure Content Delivery Network will apply for, install, and maintain the SSL certificate on your behalf.

About charges

You can view information about charges for Content Delivery Network HTTPS acceleration nodes and other Content Delivery Network acceleration nodes, can be viewed through the correspondingAzure account portal(https://account.windowsazure.com). The information is summarized below the corresponding Azure subscription.

CDN HTTPS pricing

The Azure CDN HTTPS acceleration service is currently included in the premium version. See the official Azure website for details about pricing and charges.

HTTPS 加速服务- Azure CDN代申请证书

开通流程

Azure CDN提供HTTPS安全加速服务,支持用户上传自有证书,也支持Azure CDN代为申请证书的自动化配置,均只开放给付费用户。本文档针Azure CDN代为申请证书的配置操作,用户自己上传证书自助化配置的情况以及证书说明请参考Azure CDN HTTPS 加速服务- Azure CDN用户自有证书。二者的区别请参考常见问题-服务咨询

  1. 开通申请 请联系Azure 技术支持团队进行开通申请。需要客户提供需要开通HTTPS加速服务的Azure订阅ID。

  2. 自助式创建 Azure CDN团队收到开通请求并确认之后,会对用户提供的Azure订阅开通HTTPS加速服务。之后,用户可以自行登陆到Azure管理门户完成自助式的创建操作。请参考自助式创建流程。

  3. SSL证书申请和配置 收到配置请求后,Azure CDN会代为申请SSL证书(详细的证书类型请见附注)。

    注意

    此证书申请配置时间大约需要五个工作日。同时在申请过程中,需要客户帮忙配合证书签发机构确认域名所有权。具体确认方式,请参见本文后面的详细流程。

  4. 配置完成生效 全部配置完成后,用户可以像创建其他加速类型服务一样,做最后的CNAME记录设置。之后,通过统一的Azure CDN管理门户来完成其他相应的管理配置任务。

自助式创建流程

  1. 当用户在Azure管理门户完成HTTPS加速类型的创建之后,通过点击下图中的“管理”按钮,跳转到Azure CDN管理门户进行后续的开通操作。

  2. 在Azure CDN管理门户中,通过“域名管理”选中要开通配置的HTTPS加速域名,然后点击“查看HTTPS配置状态”。

  3. 这时用户可以看到完成整个的HTTPS开通配置需要经过五个步骤。在目前的第二步“提交证书申请”,需要用户按界面的提示补充下列信息:

    预估带宽:预计可能需要使用的峰值带宽值。

    预估平均文件大小:预计的需要被缓存加速的平均文件大小。

    加速需求时间:确认该HTTPS加速需求是长期的还是短期的。

    客户端到CDN节点的访问端口:确认需要开通的客户端到CDN节点的访问方式。

    1) 只开通HTTPS访问(HTTP访问会被禁止)

    2) 同时开通HTTP和HTTPS访问

    3) 将HTTP访问统一跳转至HTTPS访问

    CDN节点到源站的回源访问端口:确认CDN节点可以回源访问的方式。

    1) 只能使用HTTP回源

    2) 只能使用HTTPS回源

    3) 可以同时使用HTTP和HTTPS回源

    检测URL:输入一个后续可以用来检查访问的URL。要确保源站上的该URL可以被访问。

  4. 将上一步当中的所有相关信息填写完毕后,点击“确定”按钮完成操作。之后再次查看HTTPS配置状态如下:

    当Azure CDN服务商后台确认了所有提交的相关信息,并正式向证书签发机构提交了证书申请之后,用户会来到步骤三如下这个界面:

  5. 接下来证书申请过程进行到了最关键的一步,需要用户来确认域名所有权。因为证书是由Azure CDN服务商代用户向证书签发机构申请的,所以这个过程当中证书签发机构会向最终用户进行域名所有权确认。确认的方式是域名所有者按照域名签发机构所发的邮件里提到的方式来完成最终确认

    收到邮件的方式有两种:

    1) 默认方式:证书签发机构接收到请求后,默认会在第一时间向加速域名相关的邮箱(具体见上面的截图)发送域名确认邮件。如果客户选择这种方式来获取确认邮件,可以直接点击“确定”按钮前往下一步。

    2) DNS TXT方式:如果用户无法登陆到上述邮箱来完成域名所有权确认,可以使用如下图所示的通过创建DNS TXT记录的方式来完成。这种方式可能会额外增加一些完成时间。

    DNS TXT记录创建完成后,在Windows操作系统下可以使用如下命令来验证: nslookup -qt=txt www.cdn.test.com

    之后,和默认方式一样,用户登陆到DNS TXT记录中指定的邮箱来完成后续的域名所有权验证。

    当用户在本步骤确定已经成功创建了相应的DNS TXT记录后,点击本步骤中的“确定”按钮,前往下一步。

  6. 用户前往邮箱完成域名所有权认证

    当Azure CDN后台确认了用户所选择的收取认证邮件的方式后,用户会看到如下界面:

    这时用户就可以前往响应的邮箱去完成域名所有权认证。

    邮件标题: Please validate ownership of your domain www.cdn.test.com -- DigiCert order 00123456

    邮件正文:

    用户需要点击邮件中的确认链接来完成域名所有权的确认。

    之后,用户需要在步骤四的界面里点击“完成”,来最终完成整个域名所有权的确认。

  7. 接下来整个配置流程会进入到最后一步,如下图:

    在这一步骤中,Azure CDN后台从证书签发机构获得相应的证书之后,需要一定的时间来完成最终的配置任务。之后,用户就会看到最终完成的界面:

    最后,用户可以像创建其他加速类型的加速域名一样,通过自己的域名服务商完成最后的CNAME配置操作,将自定义加速域名指向Azure CDN平台所提供的以.mschcdn.com结尾的CDN域名,从而让整个配置生效。

附录

关于所使用的SSL证书

SSL证书类型为SAN多域名证书(SAN/UCC SSL):

SAN 证书 – Subject Alternative Name certificates, 又称为 UCC 证书– Unified Communication Certificates。SANs SSL证书允许您在同一张证书中,添加多个需要保护的"域名"或"服务器"名。这种功能为客户提供了非常大的使用弹性,它使您可以创建一张易于使用和安装,却又比通配符SSL 证书更安全,完全适合您服务器安全需求的SSL证书。

证书签发机构: https://www.digicert.com/

该SSL证书由Azure CDN代为申请,安装和维护。

关于计费信息

CDN HTTPS加速节点的计费信息,会和其他CDN加速节点一样可以通过相应的Azure帐户门户查看,并被汇总到相应的Azure订阅下面。

关于CDN HTTPS的价格

目前Azure CDN HTTPS加速服务包含在高级版当中,具体的计费方式请参见Azure官方网站