What is Azure Database for MySQL?

APPLIES TO: Azure Database for MySQL - Single Server Azure Database for MySQL - Flexible Server

Note

You are viewing the new service of Azure Database for MySQL. To view the documentation for classic MySQL Database for Azure, please visit this page.

Azure Database for MySQL is a relational database service in the Azure cloud based on the MySQL Community Edition (available under the GPLv2 license) database engine, versions 5.6 (retired), 5.7, and 8.0. Azure Database for MySQL delivers:

  • Same zone high availability.
  • Maximum control with ability to select your scheduled maintenance window.
  • Data protection using automatic backups and point-in-time-restore for up to 35 days.
  • Automated patching and maintenance for underlying hardware, operating system and database engine to keep the service secure and up to date.
  • Predictable performance, using inclusive pay-in-advance pricing.
  • Elastic scaling within seconds.
  • Enterprise grade security, industry-leading compliance, and privacy to protect sensitive data at-rest and in-motion.
  • Monitoring and automation to simplify management and monitoring for large-scale deployments.
  • Industry-leading support experience.

These capabilities require almost no administration and all are provided at no additional cost. They allow you to focus on rapid app development and accelerating your time to market rather than allocating precious time and resources to managing virtual machines and infrastructure. In addition, you can continue to develop your application with the open-source tools and platform of your choice to deliver with the speed and efficiency your business demands, all without having to learn new skills.

Azure Database for MySQL conceptual diagram

Deployment models

Azure Database for MySQL powered by the MySQL community edition is available in two deployment modes:

  • Flexible Server
  • Single Server

Azure Database for MySQL - Flexible Server

Azure Database for MySQL Flexible Server is a fully managed production-ready database service designed for more granular control and flexibility over database management functions and configuration settings. The flexible server architecture allows users to opt for high availability within single availability zone. Flexible servers provides better cost optimization controls with the ability to stop/start server and burstable compute tier, ideal for workloads that do not need full compute capacity continuously. Flexible Server also supports reserved instances allowing you to save up to 63% cost, ideal for production workloads with predictable compute capacity requirements. The service supports community version of MySQL 5.7 and 8.0. The service is generally available today in wide variety of Azure regions.

The Flexible Server deployment option offers three compute tiers: Burstable, General Purpose, and Memory Optimized. Each tier offers different compute and memory capacity to support your database workloads. You can build your first app on a burstable tier for a few dollars a month, and then adjust the scale to meet the needs of your solution. Dynamic scalability enables your database to transparently respond to rapidly changing resource requirements. You only pay for the resources you need, and only when you need them. See Compute and Storage for details.

Flexible servers are best suited for

  • Ease of deployments, simplified scaling and low database management overhead for functions like backups, high availability, security and monitoring
  • Application developments requiring community version of MySQL with better control and customizations
  • Production workloads with same-zone high availability and managed maintenance windows
  • Simplified development experience
  • Enterprise grade security

For detailed overview of flexible server deployment mode, refer flexible server overview.

Azure Database for MySQL - Single Server

Important

Azure Database for MySQL - Single Server is on the retirement path. We strongly recommend for you to upgrade to Azure Database for MySQL - Flexible Server. For more information about migrating to Azure Database for MySQL - Flexible Server, see What's happening to Azure Database for MySQL Single Server?

Azure Database for MySQL Single Server is a fully managed database service designed for minimal customization. The single server platform is designed to handle most of the database management functions such as patching, backups, high availability, security with minimal user configuration and control. The architecture is optimized for built-in high availability with 99.99% availability on single region. It supports community version of MySQL 5.6 (retired), 5.7 and 8.0. The service is generally available today in wide variety of Azure regions.

Single servers are best suited only for existing applications already leveraging single server. For all new developments or migrations, Flexible Server would be the recommended deployment option. To learn about the differences between Flexible Server and Single Server deployment options, refer to select the right deployment option for your documentation.

For detailed overview of single server deployment mode, refer single server overview. For latest updates on Flexible Server, refer to What's new in Azure Database for MySQL - Single Server.

Contacts

For any questions or suggestions you might have about working with Azure Database for MySQL, consider the following points of contact as appropriate:

Next steps

Learn more about the two deployment modes for Azure Database for MySQL and choose the right options based on your needs.

什么是用于 MySQL 的 Azure 数据库?

适用于: Azure Database for MySQL - 单一服务器 Azure Database for MySQL - 灵活服务器

注意

将要查看的是 Azure Database for MySQL 的新服务。 若要查看经典 MySQL Database for Azure 的文档,请访问此页

Azure Database for MySQL 是 Azure 云中基于 MySQL 社区版(可在 GPLv2 许可证下使用)数据库引擎版本 5.6(已停用)、5.7 和 8.0 的一种关系数据库服务。 用于 MySQL 的 Azure 数据库提供以下功能:

  • 相同区域高可用性。
  • 最大控制,能够选择计划的维护时段。
  • 使用自动备份和时间点还原对数据进行长达 35 天的保护。
  • 自动修补和维护基础硬件、操作系统和数据库引擎,使服务保持安全和最新状态。
  • 使用非独占预付费定价,实现可预测性能。
  • 在几秒钟内实现弹性缩放。
  • 企业级安全性、行业领先的符合性以及隐私,可保护静态和动态敏感数据。
  • 具有监视和自动化功能,可简化大规模部署的管理和监视。
  • 行业领先的支持体验。

这些功能几乎都不需要进行任何管理,并且都是在不另外收费的情况下提供的。 借助这些功能,用户可将注意力集中在如何快速进行应用开发、加快推向市场,而不需要投入宝贵的时间和资源来管理虚拟机与基础结构。 此外,可以继续使用选择的开源工具和平台来开发应用程序,以提供业务所需的速度和效率,这些都不需要学习新技能。

用于 MySQL 的 Azure 数据库概念图

部署模型

由 MySQL 社区版提供支持的 Azure Database for MySQL 提供两种部署模式:

  • 灵活服务器
  • 单台服务器

Azure Database for MySQL - 灵活服务器

Azure Database for MySQL 灵活服务器是一种完全托管的生产就绪数据库服务,旨在针对数据库管理功能和配置设置提供更精细的控制和更大的灵活性。 灵活服务器体系结构允许用户选择单个可用性区域内的高可用性。 灵活服务器提供了更好的成本优化控制,能够停止/启动服务器和可突增计算层,非常适合不需要连续的全部计算容量的工作负载。 灵活服务器还支持预留实例,最多可节省 63% 的成本,非常适合具有可预测计算容量要求的生产工作负载。 该服务支持 MySQL 5.7 和 8.0 的社区版。 目前,该服务已在各种 Azure 区域中正式发布。

灵活服务器部署选项提供三个计算层:可突发、常规用途和内存优化。 每个层提供不同的计算和内存容量以支持数据库工作负载。 可以在一个月内花费很少的费用基于可突发层构建第一个应用,然后根据解决方案的需求调整缩放。 动态可伸缩性使得数据库能够以透明方式对不断变化的资源需求做出响应。 只需在需要资源时为所需的资源付费。 有关详细信息,请参阅计算和存储

灵活服务器最适合用于

  • 简化备份、高可用性、安全性和监视等功能的部署和缩放,并降低其数据库管理开销
  • 需要社区版本的 MySQL 且具有更好的控制和自定义的应用程序开发
  • 具有相同区域高可用性和托管维护时段的生产工作负荷
  • 简化的开发体验
  • 企业级安全性

有关灵活服务器部署模式的详细概述,请参阅灵活服务器概述

Azure Database for MySQL - 单一服务器

重要

Azure Database for MySQL 单一服务器即将停用。 强烈建议升级到 Azure Database for MySQL 灵活服务器。 有关迁移到 Azure Database for MySQL 灵活服务器的详细信息,请参阅 Azure Database for MySQL 单一服务器的最新动态

Azure Database for MySQL 单一服务器是一种旨在实现最小自定义的完全托管的数据库服务。 单一服务器平台旨在以最少的用户配置和控制来处理大多数数据库管理功能,例如修补、备份、高可用性、安全性。 此体系结构已进行优化,提供内置的高可用性,在单个区域的可用性为 99.99%。 它支持 MySQL 社区版 5.6(已停用)、5.7 和 8.0。 目前,该服务已在各种 Azure 区域中正式发布。

单一服务器仅最适用于已利用单一服务器的现有应用程序。 对于所有新开发或迁移,建议使用灵活服务器部署选项。 要了解灵活服务器和单一服务器部署选项之间的差异,请参阅为你选择正确的部署选项文档。

有关单一服务器部署模式的详细概述,请参阅单一服务器概述。 有关灵活服务器的最新资讯,请参阅 Azure Database for MySQL 单一服务器中的新增功能

联系人

有关使用 Azure Database for MySQL 的任何问题或建议,请根据需要考虑以下联系点:

后续步骤

详细了解 Azure Database for MySQL 的两种部署模式,并根据需要选择合适的选项。