Log alerts in Azure Monitor

Overview

Log alerts are one of the alert types that are supported in Azure Alerts. Log alerts allow users to use a Log Analytics query to evaluate resources logs every set frequency, and fire an alert based on the results. Rules can trigger one or more actions using Action Groups.

Note

Log data from a Log Analytics workspace can be sent to the Azure Monitor metrics store. Metrics alerts have different behavior, which may be more desirable depending on the data you are working with. For information on what and how you can route logs to metrics, see Metric Alert for Logs.

Prerequisites

Log alerts run queries on Log Analytics data. First you should start collecting log data and query the log data for issues. You can use the alert query examples topic in Log Analytics to understand what you can discover or get started on writing your own query.

Azure Monitoring Contributor is a common role that is needed for creating, modifying, and updating log alerts. Access & query execution rights for the resource logs are also needed. Partial access to resource logs can fail queries or return partial results. Learn more about configuring log alerts in Azure.

Note

Log alerts for Log Analytics used to be managed using the legacy Log Analytics Alert API.

Query evaluation definition

Log search rules condition definition starts from:

  • What query to run?
  • How to use the results?

The following sections describe the different parameters you can use to set the above logic.

Log query

The Log Analytics query used to evaluate the rule. The results returned by this query are used to determine whether an alert is to be triggered. The query can be scoped to:

  • A specific resource, such as a virtual machine.
  • An at scale resource, such as a subscription or resource group.
  • Multiple resources using cross-resource query.

Important

Alert queries have constraints to ensure optimal performance and the relevance of the results. Learn more here.

Important

Resource centric and cross-resource query are only supported using the current scheduledQueryRules API.

Query time Range

Time range is set in the rule condition definition. It's called Override query time range in the advance settings section.

Unlike log analytics, the time range in alerts is limited to a maximum of two days of data. Even if longer range ago command is used in the query, the time range will apply. For example, a query scans up to 2 days, even if the text contains ago(7d).

If you use ago command in the query, the range is automatically set to two days. You can also change time range manually in cases the query requires more data than the alert evaluation even if there is no ago command in the query.

Measure

Log alerts turn log into numeric values that can be evaluated. You can measure two different things:

  • Result count
  • Calculation of a value

Result count

Count of results is the default measure and is used when you set a Measure with a selection of Table rows. Ideal for working with events such as Windows event logs, syslog, application exceptions. Triggers when log records happen or doesn't happen in the evaluated time window.

Log alerts work best when you try to detect data in the log. It works less well when you try to detect lack of data in the logs. For example, alerting on virtual machine heartbeat.

Note

Since logs are semi-structured data, they are inherently more latent than metric, you may experience misfires when trying to detect lack of data in the logs, and you should consider using metric alerts. You can send data to the metric store from logs using metric alerts for logs.

Example of result count use case

You want to know when your application responded with error code 500 (Internal Server Error). You would create an alert rule with the following details:

  • Query:
requests
| where resultCode == "500"
  • Aggregation granularity: 15 minutes
  • Alert frequency: 15 minutes
  • Threshold value: Greater than 0

Then alert rules monitors for any requests ending with 500 error code. The query runs every 15 minutes, over the last 15 minutes. If even one record is found, it fires the alert and triggers the actions configured.

Calculation of a value

Calculation of a value is used when you select a column name of a numeric column for the Measure, and the result is a calculation that you perform on the values in that column. This would be used, for example, as CPU counter value.

Aggregation type

The calculation that is done on multiple records to aggregate them to one numeric value using the Aggregation granularity defined. For example:

  • Sum returns the sum of measure column.
  • Average returns the average of the measure column.

Aggregation granularity

Determines the interval that is used to aggregate multiple records to one numeric value. For example, if you specified 5 minutes, records would be grouped by 5-minute intervals using the Aggregation type specified.

Note

As bin() can result in uneven time intervals, the alert service will automatically convert bin() function to bin_at() function with appropriate time at runtime, to ensure results with a fixed point.

Split by alert dimensions

Split alerts by number or string columns into separate alerts by grouping into unique combinations. It's configured in Split by dimensions section of the condition (limited to six splits). When creating resource-centric alerts at scale (subscription or resource group scope), you can split by Azure resource ID column. Splitting on Azure resource ID column will change the target of the alert to the specified resource.

Splitting by Azure resource ID column is recommended when you want to monitor the same condition on multiple Azure resources. For example, monitoring all virtual machines for CPU usage over 80%. You may also decide not to split when you want a condition on multiple resources in the scope. Such as monitoring that at least five machines in the resource group scope have CPU usage over 80%.

Example of splitting by alert dimensions

For example, you want to monitor errors for multiple virtual machines running your web site/app in a specific resource group. You can do that using a log alert rule as follows:

  • Query:

    // Reported errors
    union Event, Syslog // Event table stores Windows event records, Syslog stores Linux records
    | where EventLevelName == "Error" // EventLevelName is used in the Event (Windows) records
    or SeverityLevel== "err" // SeverityLevel is used in Syslog (Linux) records
    
  • Resource ID Column: _ResourceId

  • Dimensions:

    • Computer = VM1, VM2 (Filtering values in alert rules definition isn't available currently for workspaces and Application Insights. Filter in the query text.)
  • Aggregation granularity: 15 minutes

  • Alert frequency: 15 minutes

  • Threshold value: Greater than 0

This rule monitors if any virtual machine had error events in the last 15 minutes. Each virtual machine is monitored separately and will trigger actions individually.

Note

Split by alert dimensions is only available for the current scheduledQueryRules API. Resource centric alerting at scale is only supported in the API version 2021-08-01 and above.

Alert logic definition

Once you define the query to run and evaluation of the results, you need to define the alerting logic and when to fire actions. The following sections describe the different parameters you can use:

Threshold and operator

The query results are transformed into a number that is compared against the threshold and operator.

Frequency

The interval in which the query is run. Can be set from a minute to a day.

Number of violations to trigger alert

You can specify the alert evaluation period and the number of failures needed to trigger an alert. Allowing you to better define an impact time to trigger an alert.

For example, if your rule Aggregation granularity is defined as '5 minutes', you can trigger an alert only if three failures (15 minutes) of the last hour occurred. This setting is defined by your application business policy.

State and resolving alerts

Log alerts can either be stateless or stateful (currently in preview).

Stateless alerts fire each time the condition is met, even if fired previously. You can mark the alert as closed once the alert instance is resolved. You can also mute actions to prevent them from triggering for a period after an alert rule fired using the Mute Actions option in the alert details section.

See this alert stateless evaluation example:

Time Log condition evaluation Result
00:05 FALSE Alert doesn't fire. No actions called.
00:10 TRUE Alert fires and action groups called. New alert state ACTIVE.
00:15 TRUE Alert fires and action groups called. New alert state ACTIVE.
00:20 FALSE Alert doesn't fire. No actions called. Pervious alerts state remains ACTIVE.

Stateful alerts fire once per incident and resolve. The alert rule resolves when the alert condition isn't met for 30 minutes for a specific evaluation period (to account for log ingestion delay), and for three consecutive evaluations to reduce noise if there is flapping conditions. For example, with a frequency of 5 minutes, the alert resolve after 40 minutes or with a frequency of 1 minute, the alert resolve after 32 minutes. The resolved notification is sent out via web-hooks or email, the status of the alert instance (called monitor state) in Azure portal is also set to resolved.

Stateful alerts feature is currently in preview. You can set this using Automatically resolve alerts in the alert details section.

Location selection in log alerts

Log alerts allow you to set a location for alert rules. You can select any of the supported locations, which align to Log Analytics supported region list.

Location affects which region the alert rule is evaluated in. Queries are executed on the log data in the selected region, that said, the alert service end to end is global. Meaning alert rule definition, fired alerts, notifications, and actions aren't bound to the location in the alert rule. Data is transfer from the set region since the Azure Monitor alerts service is a non-regional service.

Pricing and billing of log alerts

Pricing information is located in the Azure Monitor pricing page. Log Alerts are listed under resource provider microsoft.insights/scheduledqueryrules with:

  • Log Alerts on Application Insights shown with exact resource name along with resource group and alert properties.
  • Log Alerts on Log Analytics shown with exact resource name along with resource group and alert properties; when created using scheduledQueryRules API.
  • Log alerts created from legacy Log Analytics API aren't tracked Azure Resources and don't have enforced unique resource names. These alerts are still created on microsoft.insights/scheduledqueryrules as hidden resources, which have this resource naming structure <WorkspaceName>|<savedSearchId>|<scheduleId>|<ActionId>. Log Alerts on legacy API are shown with above hidden resource name along with resource group and alert properties.

Note

Unsupported resource characters such as <, >, %, &, \, ?, / are replaced with _ in the hidden resource names and this will also reflect in the billing information.

Note

Log alerts for Log Analytics used to be managed using the legacy Log Analytics Alert API and legacy templates of Log Analytics saved searches and alerts. Any alert rule management should be done using legacy Log Analytics API until you decide to switch and you can't use the hidden resources.

Next steps

Azure Monitor 中的日志警报

概述

日志警报是 Azure 警报中支持的警报类型之一。 使用日志警报,用户可以通过 Log Analytics 查询按每个设置的频率评估资源日志并基于结果触发警报。 规则可以使用操作组触发一个或多个操作。

备注

可以将 Log Analytics 工作区中的日志数据发送到 Azure Monitor 指标存储。 指标警报具有不同的行为,该行为可能更可取,具体取决于你要使用的数据。 要了解如何将日志路由到指标,请参阅日志的指标警报

备注

当前不对 API 版本 2020-05-01-preview 和以资源为中心的日志警报收取额外费用。 未来将公布预览版中的功能的定价以及开始计费之前提供的通知。 如果你选择在通知期过后继续使用新 API 版本和以资源为中心的日志警报,需要按适用的费率付费。

先决条件

日志警报运行对 Log Analytics 数据的查询。 首先,你应开始收集日志数据,并查询日志数据以查找问题。 可以通过 Log Analytics 中的警报查询示例文章来了解可发现的内容,也可以开始编写你自己的查询

Azure 监视参与者是创建、修改和更新日志警报所需的常见角色。 还需要具有对资源日志的访问和查询执行权限。 对资源日志具有部分访问权限可能会导致查询失败或返回部分结果。 详细了解如何在 Azure 中配置日志警报

备注

过去使用旧版 Log Analytics 警报 API 管理 Log Analytics 的日志警报。

查询评估定义

日志搜索规则条件定义开始于:

  • 要运行什么查询?
  • 如何使用结果?

以下各节介绍了可用于设置上述逻辑的不同参数。

日志查询

用来评估规则的 Log Analytics 查询。 此查询返回的结果用来确定是否将触发某个警报。 查询的范围可以是:

  • 特定资源,例如虚拟机。
  • 大规模资源,例如订阅或资源组。
  • 使用跨资源查询的多个资源。

重要

警报查询具有约束,可确保结果的最佳性能和相关性。 在此处了解更多信息

重要

使用当前 scheduledQueryRules API 仅支持以资源为中心的查询和跨资源查询

查询时间范围

时间范围是在规则条件定义中设置的。 在工作区和 Application Insights 中,它被称为“期间”。 在所有其他资源类型中,它被称为“替代查询时间范围”。

与在日志分析中一样,时间范围将查询数据限制在指定的范围内。 即使在查询中使用了 ago 命令,时间范围也将适用。

例如,即使文本包含 ago(1d),查询也会扫描 60 分钟(当时间范围为 60 分钟时)。 时间范围和查询时间筛选需要匹配。 在这个例子中,将“期间” / “替代查询时间范围”更改为一天就可以正常工作 。

测量

日志警报将日志转换为可计算的数字值。 你可以度量两个不同的事项:

结果表行的计数

结果计数是默认度量值。 适用于处理 Windows 事件日志、Syslog 和应用程序异常等事件。 当评估的时间窗口中发生或未发生日志记录时触发。

当你尝试检测日志中的数据时,日志警报效果最佳。 当你试图检测日志中是否缺少数据时,它的效果就不太好。 例如,对虚拟机检测信号发出警报。

对于工作区和 Application Insights,它在选择“结果数”的情况下称为“基于”。 在所有其他资源类型中,它在选择“表行”的情况下称为“度量值”。

备注

由于日志是半结构化数据,它们本质上比指标更隐蔽,因此,尝试检测日志中是否缺少数据时可能会遇到误触发,你应考虑使用指标警报。 你可以使用日志的指标警报将数据从日志发送到指标存储。

结果表行计数用例示例

你希望知道你的应用程序何时以错误代码 500(内部服务器错误)做出响应。 可以创建一个警报规则,详情如下:

  • 查询:
requests
| where resultCode == "500"
  • 时间范围/聚合粒度: 15 分钟
  • 警报频率: 15 分钟
  • 阈值: 大于 0

然后,警报规则监视所有以错误代码 500 结束的请求。 在过去的 15 分钟,该查询每 15 分钟运行一次。 即使找到一条记录,它也会引发警报并触发所配置的操作。

基于数值列计算度量值(例如 CPU 计数器值)

对于工作区和 Application Insights,它在选择“指标度量”的情况下称为“基于”。 在所有其他资源类型中,它在选择任何数字列名称的情况下称为“度量值”。

聚合类型

对多条记录执行的用于将其聚合为一个数值的计算。 例如:

  • 计数 返回查询中的记录数
  • 平均值 返回所定义的度量值列 聚合粒度的平均值。

在工作区和 Application Insights 中,它仅在“指标度量”度量值类型中受支持。 查询结果必须包含一个名为 AggregatedValue 的列,该列在用户定义的聚合之后提供数值。 在所有其他资源类型中,“聚合类型”是从该名称的字段中选择的。

聚合粒度

确定用于将多条记录聚合为一个数值的间隔。 例如,如果你指定了 5 分钟,则记录会使用指定的 聚合类型 按 5 分钟间隔进行分组。

在工作区和 Application Insights 中,它仅在“指标度量”度量值类型中受支持。 查询结果必须包含在查询结果中设置间隔的 bin()。 在所有其他资源类型中,控制此设置的字段称为“聚合粒度”。

备注

由于 bin() 可能导致不均匀的时间间隔,因此,警报服务会自动将 bin() 函数转换为针对运行时的相应时间的 bin_at() 函数,以确保生成针对确定时间点的结果。

按警报维度拆分

通过将警报分组为唯一的组合,按数字或字符串列将警报拆分为单独的警报。 当大规模(在订阅或资源组范围内)创建以资源为中心的警报时,可以按 Azure 资源 ID 列进行拆分。 按 Azure 资源 ID 列进行拆分会将警报的目标更改为指定的资源。

如果想要在多个 Azure 资源上监视相同的条件,建议按 Azure 资源 ID 列进行拆分。 例如,监视所有虚拟机的 CPU 使用率超过 80%。 在需要范围内的多个资源的条件时,你也可能会决定不进行拆分。 例如,监视到在资源组范围内至少有五台计算机的 CPU 使用率超过 80%。

在工作区和 Application Insights 中,它仅在“指标度量”度量值类型中受支持。 此字段称为“聚合依据”。 它限制为三个列。 查询中的分组依据列超过三个可能会导致意外的结果。 在所有其他资源类型中,它是在条件的“拆分依据维度”部分中配置的(限制为六个拆分)。

按警报维度拆分的示例

例如,你想要监视在特定资源组中运行你的网站/应用的多个虚拟机的错误。 可以如下所述使用日志警报规则实现此目的:

  • 查询:

    // Reported errors
    union Event, Syslog // Event table stores Windows event records, Syslog stores Linux records
    | where EventLevelName == "Error" // EventLevelName is used in the Event (Windows) records
    or SeverityLevel== "err" // SeverityLevel is used in Syslog (Linux) records
    

    将工作区和 Application Insights 与 指标度量 警报逻辑一起使用时,需要将以下行添加到查询文本:

    | summarize AggregatedValue = count() by Computer, bin(TimeGenerated, 15m)
    
  • 资源 ID 列: _ResourceId(目前,按警报规则中的资源 ID 列拆分这一做法仅适用于订阅和资源组)

  • 维度/聚合依据:

    • Computer = VM1、VM2(在警报规则定义中筛选值这一做法目前不适用于工作区和 Application Insights。 请在查询文本中筛选。)
  • 时间范围/聚合粒度: 15 分钟

  • 警报频率: 15 分钟

  • 阈值: 大于 0

此规则监视在过去 15 分钟内是否有任何虚拟机出现错误事件。 每个虚拟机都会被单独监视,并且会分别触发操作。

备注

按警报维度拆分这一做法仅适用于当前的 scheduledQueryRules API。 仅在 API 2020-05-01-preview 及更高版本中支持大规模的以资源为中心的警报。

警报逻辑定义

定义要运行的查询并对结果进行评估后,你需要定义警报逻辑以及何时触发操作。 以下各节介绍了你可以使用的各个参数:

阈值和运算符

查询结果将转换为一个数字,该数字将依据阈值和运算符进行比较。

频率

备注

目前不对频率为 1 分钟 1 次的日志警报(预览版)收取额外费用。 未来将公布预览版中的功能的定价以及开始计费之前提供的通知。 如果在通知期后选择继续使用频率为 1 分钟的日志警报,则将按适当的费率付费。

运行查询的间隔。 可以设置为一分钟至一天。 必须等于或小于查询时间范围才不会错过日志记录。

例如,如果你将时间段设置为 30 分钟,将频率设置为 1 小时 1 次。 如果查询在 00:00 运行,则会返回 23:30 到 00:00 之间的记录。 下次运行查询的时间将是 01:00,将返回 00:30 到 01:00 之间的记录。 从不会评估在 00:00 到 00:30 之间创建的任何记录。

触发警报的违规次数

你可以指定警报评估时段和触发警报所需的故障次数。 允许你更好地定义触发警报的影响时间。

例如,如果你的 聚合粒度规则定义为“5 分钟”,则只有在过去一小时内发生三次故障(15 分钟)时,你才能触发警报。 此设置由你的应用程序业务策略定义。

状态和解决警报

日志警报可以是无状态的,也可以是有状态的(目前处于预览版阶段)。

每次满足条件时都会触发无状态警报,即使之前已触发过。 警报实例解除后,可以将警报标记为已关闭。 你还可以对操作进行“静音”,以防它们在警报规则触发后的一段时间内触发。 在 Log Analytics 工作区和 Application Insights 中,这称为“抑制警报”。 在所有其他资源类型中,它称为“将操作‘静音’”。

请参阅这个警报无状态评估示例:

时间 日志条件评估 结果
00:05 FALSE 警报不会触发。 没有调用任何操作。
00:10 TRUE 警报触发,操作组被调用。 新警报处于活动状态。
00:15 TRUE 警报触发,操作组被调用。 新警报处于活动状态。
00:20 FALSE 警报不会触发。 没有调用任何操作。 以前的警报保持活动状态。

有状态警报会在每次事件后触发一次并解决。 如果在特定评估期间出现 30 分钟都不符合警报条件的情况(考虑到日志引入存在延迟),或者出现连续三次评估都不符合警报条件的情况(这是为了减少不稳定情况下出现的干扰),则警报会解除。 例如,如果频率为 5 分钟/次,警报会在 40 分钟后解除;如果频率为 1 分钟/次,警报会在 32 分钟后解除。 通过 Webhook 或电子邮件发出“已解除”通知后,Azure 门户中警报实例的状态(称为“监视状态”)也会设置为“已解除”。

可以使用警报详细信息部分的“自动解决警报”进行设置。

日志警报中的位置选择

日志警报允许设置警报规则的位置。 在 Log Analytics 工作区中,规则位置必须与工作区位置匹配。 在所有其他资源中,可以选择任何受支持的位置,这些位置与 Log Analytics 支持的区域列表相符。

位置会对在哪个区域中评估警报规则造成影响。 查询会针对所选区域中的日志数据执行,但警报服务端到端是全局的。 这意味着警报规则定义、触发的警报、通知和操作不会绑定到警报规则中的位置。 数据会从设置的区域传输,因为 Azure Monitor 警报服务是非区域性服务

日志警报的定价和计费

定价信息位于 Azure Monitor 定价页中。 日志警报在资源提供程序 microsoft.insights/scheduledqueryrules 下列出,同时列出的有:

  • Application Insights 上的日志警报,显示时带有确切的资源名称以及资源组和警报属性。
  • 如果是使用 scheduledQueryRules API 创建的,则 Log Analytics 上的日志警报显示时带有确切的资源名称以及资源组和警报属性。
  • 通过旧式 Log Analytics API 创建的日志警报不是被跟踪的 Azure资源,没有强制使用的唯一资源名称。 这些警报仍作为隐藏资源在 microsoft.insights/scheduledqueryrules 上创建,这些资源的资源命名结构为 <WorkspaceName>|<savedSearchId>|<scheduleId>|<ActionId>。 针对旧式 API 的日志警报显示时带有上述隐藏的资源名称以及资源组和警报属性。

备注

在隐藏的资源名称中,不受支持的资源字符(例如 <, >, %, &, \, ?, /)将被替换为 _,这也会在计费信息中反映出来。

备注

过去使用旧式 Log Analytics 警报 API 以及 Log Analytics 保存的搜索和警报的旧式模板管理 Log Analytics 的日志警报。 任何警报规则管理都应该使用旧式 Log Analytics API 执行,直到你决定切换并且在这种情况下无法使用隐藏的资源。

后续步骤