Optimize development and testing cost in Azure Cosmos DB

APPLIES TO: NoSQL MongoDB APPLIES TO: Cassandra APPLIES TO: Gremlin APPLIES TO: Table

This article describes the different options to use Azure Cosmos DB for development and testing for free of cost, as well as techniques to optimize cost in development or test accounts.

Azure Cosmos DB emulator (locally downloadable version)

Azure Cosmos DB emulator is a local downloadable version that mimics the Azure Cosmos DB cloud service. You can write and test code that uses the Azure Cosmos DB APIs even if you have no network connection and without incurring any costs. Azure Cosmos DB emulator provides a local environment for development purposes with high fidelity to the cloud service. You can develop and test your application locally, without creating an Azure subscription. When you're ready to deploy your application to the cloud, update the connection string to connect to the Azure Cosmos DB endpoint in the cloud, no other modifications are needed. You can also set up a CI/CD pipeline with the Azure Cosmos DB emulator build task in Azure DevOps to run tests. You can get started by visiting the Azure Cosmos DB emulator article.

Azure Cosmos DB free tier

Azure Cosmos DB free tier makes it easy to get started, develop and test your applications, or even run small production workloads for free. When free tier is enabled on an account, you'll get the first 1000 RU/s and 25 GB of storage in the account free.

Free tier lasts indefinitely for the lifetime of the account and comes with all the benefits and features of a regular Azure Cosmos DB account, including unlimited storage and throughput (RU/s), SLAs, high availability, turnkey multiple-regional distribution in all Azure China regions, and more. You can create a free tier account using Azure portal, CLI, PowerShell, and a Resource Manager template. To learn more, see how to create a free tier account article and the pricing page.

Azure Trial

Azure Cosmos DB is included in the Azure trial subscription, which offers Azure credits and resources for free for a certain time period. Specifically for Azure Cosmos DB, this trial subscription offers 25-GB storage and 400 RUs of provisioned throughput for the entire year. This experience enables any developer to easily test the features of Azure Cosmos DB or integrate it with other Azure services at zero cost. With Azure trial subscription, you get a CNY 3500 credit to spend in the first 30 days. You won't be charged, even if you start using the services until you choose to upgrade. To get started, visit Azure trial subscription page.

Azure Cosmos DB serverless

Azure Cosmos DB serverless lets you use your Azure Cosmos DB account in a consumption-based fashion where you are only charged for the Request Units consumed by your database operations and the storage consumed by your data. There is no minimum charge involved when using Azure Cosmos DB in serverless mode. Because it eliminates the concept of provisioned capacity, it is best suited for development or testing activities specifically when your database is idle most of the time.

Use shared throughput databases

In a shared throughput database, all containers inside the database share the provisioned throughput (RU/s) of the database. For example, if you provision a database with 400 RU/s and have four containers, all four containers will share the 400 RU/s. In a development or testing environment, where each container may be be accessed less frequently and thus require lower than the minimum of 400 RU/s, putting containers in a shared throughput database can help optimize cost.

For example, suppose your development or test account has four containers. If you create four containers with dedicated throughput (minimum of 400 RU/s), your total RU/s will be 1600 RU/s. In contrast, if you create a shared throughput database (minimum 400 RU/s) and put your containers there, your total RU/s will be just 400 RU/s. In general, shared throughput databases are great for scenarios where you don't need guaranteed throughput on any individual container. Learn more about shared throughput databases.

Next steps

You can get started with using the emulator or the free Azure Cosmos DB accounts with the following articles:

在 Azure Cosmos DB 中优化开发和测试成本

适用于: SQL API Cassandra API Gremlin API 表 API Azure Cosmos DB API for MongoDB

本文介绍免费使用 Azure Cosmos DB 进行开发和测试的各种选项,以及在开发或测试帐户中进行成本优化的各种技巧。

Azure Cosmos DB 模拟器(可以本地下载的版本)

Azure Cosmos DB 模拟器是一个本地的可下载版本,模拟 Azure Cosmos DB 云服务。 即使没有网络连接,也可以编写并测试使用 Azure Cosmos DB API 的代码,不需支付任何费用。 Azure Cosmos DB 模拟器提供了一个用于开发的具有云服务高保真特性的本地环境。 可以在本地开发和测试应用程序,无需创建 Azure 订阅。 做好将应用程序部署到云的准备以后,即可更新连接到云中的 Azure Cosmos DB 终结点所需的连接字符串,不需进行其他的修改。 也可在 Azure DevOps 中通过 Azure Cosmos DB 模拟器生成任务设置 CI/CD 管道,以便运行测试。 若要开始操作,可以参阅 Azure Cosmos DB 模拟器一文。

Azure Cosmos DB 免费层

使用 Azure Cosmos DB 免费层,可以轻松上手、开发和测试应用程序,甚至免费运行小型生产工作负载。 在帐户上启用免费层后,一开始你将在该帐户中免费获得 1000 RU/s 的吞吐量和 25 GB 的存储空间。

免费层在帐户的生命周期内无限期地持续有效,并且附带常规 Azure Cosmos DB 帐户的所有优点和功能,包括无限制的存储和吞吐量(RU/秒)、SLA、高可用性以及在所有 Azure 中国区域进行统包式多区域分布等。 你可以使用 Azure 门户、CLI、PowerShell 和资源管理器模板来创建免费层帐户。 若要了解详细信息,请参阅如何创建免费层帐户一文和定价页

Azure 试用版订阅

Azure Cosmos DB 包含在 Azure 试用版订阅中,该订阅提供 Azure 额度和资源,可以免费使用特定的一段时间。 具体对于 Azure Cosmos DB 而言,该试用版订阅提供 25 GB 的存储和 400 RU 的全年预配吞吐量。 任何开发人员都可以通过此体验轻松地测试 Azure Cosmos DB 的功能,或者将其与其他 Azure 服务集成,没有任何费用。 使用 Azure 试用版订阅可获得 3500 元额度,该额度可以在头 30 天使用。 在选择升级之前,即使开始使用服务也不会收费。 若要开始,请访问 Azure 试用版订阅页。

Azure Cosmos DB 无服务器

Azure Cosmos DB 无服务器让你以一种基于消耗的方式使用 Azure Cosmos 帐户。在这种方式下,你只需为数据库操作所消耗的请求单位和数据所消耗的存储空间付费。 在无服务器模式下使用 Azure Cosmos DB 时不涉及最低费用。 因为它消除了预配容量的概念,所以它最适合于开发或测试活动,尤其是在数据库大部分时间处于空闲状态的情况下。

使用共享吞吐量数据库

共享吞吐量数据库中,数据库中的所有容器共享数据库的已预配吞吐量(RU/秒)。 例如,如果为数据库预配了 400 RU/秒并且有四个容器,则所有四个容器共享此 400 RU/秒的吞吐量。 在开发或测试环境中,对每个容器的访问可能不是很频繁,因此,需求低于最小值 400 RU/秒,将容器置于共享吞吐量数据库中有助于优化成本。

例如,假设你的开发或测试帐户有四个容器。 如果创建具有专用吞吐量(最小为 400 RU/秒)的四个容器,则总吞吐量将为 1600 RU/秒。 相反,如果创建一个共享吞吐量数据库(至少 400 RU/秒)并将容器置于其中,则总吞吐量将只有 400 RU/秒。 通常情况下,共享吞吐量数据库非常适合不需要在任何单个容器上保证吞吐量的方案。 详细了解共享吞吐量数据库

后续步骤

可以按照以下文章的说明,开始使用模拟器或免费的 Azure Cosmos DB 帐户: